Debunking two myths about natural hair


During all the time I was a child until I become a woman, I have always heard all kinds of stories about natural hair.  Shampooing the hair often damages it, you do not trim the ends of your natural hair, you do that only if they are relaxed and so forth. I would always take my precautions and follow those instructions.  But now that I am a naturalista, I know from experience and natural hair education that a looooooooooot of what haitian adults told us about our natural nap is just myth.  I will be talking about two of the most common myths about natural hair.

1- Natural hair never require  ends-trimming. And if the hair is getting brittle and the ends are splitting?! The only way for this not to damage all of your healthy nap is to trim the ends.  And nothing is so ugly to see then a afro hair with parts longer and others shorter.  If you need your nap to look good and to be healthy, you need to trim it every 3 to 4 months. Words of a naturalista!

2- Natural afro hair is not versatile- Hein? Where did they get that last one?! With afro hair, let me get brief, you can have cornrows, afro puffs of all sorts, locs, coils, flat twists, braids, bantu knots, two-strand twists and so on…. There are so many hairstyles that YOU but not your hair, can get tired. If this is a pretext to relax  your natural hair, it doesn’t work. Because relaxers ease your nappy life only with ponytails or the eternal loose style. The only way you get versatile with relaxers is when you dye your hair or have some haircuts.

Myths are barriers. Free yourself from them.  They are preventing you from discovering, loving and enjoying your napturality.

As for myself, I am HAPPY to be NAPPY.

Naturalice.

One thought on “Debunking two myths about natural hair

  1. Alain The Great says:

    Good post. Even though I’m not a woman, I’ve been wondering for quite some time when African descent women would finally realize the full potential of having such a unique gift, their nappy hair that is, and the diversity of hair styles it can offer them. You have just named a few in your post (large strip cornrows and dreadlocks are my favorites), but there are so many others that can be piloted; only brake to the process would be shortage of creativity.

    On another note, I am a purist. the more i analyze the situation of the consuming world, the more I am kin to go back to my roots, (I hope I won’t find any disturbing truth about clothing and start running butt-naked). Seriously though, the hair-relaxer market is a true bargain for Corporate White America; it is a billion-dollar business, that feeds off of black people stereotypes, miseducation of the black community, leading them to believe white people’s values are the role model to follow. Also, miseducation led by the constant exposition of men and particularly women to false ideals of beauty represented by what they see on television. I wish I could have gone through all the different shapes and aspects taken by the mental poison black people are buying at the expense of their own money and happiness, but the problem is sooo complex that it would take roughly two hours to do so, for the origin of the issue could be traced back from centuries ago, when slavery was a normal thing.

    Moreover, the business is so lucrative that corporations spend billions of dollars in the entertainment industry to keep these false ideals alive, hence leaving the door open for exploitation of future black descent generations. I was so disgusted when i realized none of the current successful black women celebrities had natural hair. Quasi all of them (and with quasi I’m being modest) are wearing either weaves or wigs (Beyonce, Raven, Tyra banks, Sanaa Lathan, Keri Washington, Nicki Minaj, Oprah, old to new ones, you name them).

    Sorry Alice for getting so carried away on your post but I couldn’t help it. I’ll address the rest of the issue on my own blog.

    Anyway, i wish you do not just talk about it on your blog. It’s a serious issue to raise among your peers. I would particular recommend you educate young girls about it, because self image problems start at very young age as children’s brains are like sponges at this phase of their development.

Leave a Reply

