My Story with “Tribute” by Yanni: Homage to Janice ♥


Tribute is the fifth track on the album with the same name composed by Yanni, a famous greek composer and pianist in 1997.  The album was written to honor the builders of Taj(an Indian Mausoleum), the Forbidden City (a Chinese Imperial palace) and the people of India and China.

But, my story with this amazing piece is different: it pays tribute to one woman who made a big difference in my childhood and teenage.

Whenever I listen to Tribute, it brings me back to mygraduation day and all of the amazing memories I had during my high school years.  Whenever I think about my high school years, I remember  my teachers, myself at that time and my unique school principal: Janice Regis.  That woman saved me from the highest cliff of my life and I am eternally grateful to her for that.  In the very moment I needed an anchor, she gave me what a terribly hurt and lost girl needed to start smiling again.

When my parents got separated, almost two decades ago, I was disappointed, hurt, I felt abandoned and worthless, I was mad with the world and I wanted to make my parents feel what I felt.  I intended to be a real pain in their life.  I had nothing to lose as I thought I had already lost everything I had.  I felt like I was in a dark tunnel with no outcome. My mom registered me at several schools and I got accepted at all of them. I could have gone to A or B or C but I was blessed enough to go to her school: Institution La Source.  From the day I  met her to the last time I visited her, she has always empowered me with her teachings, her advice, her hugs, her actions and her personality.  She has never missed an opportunity to tell me or show me how valuable I am.  She believes in me.  I love the fact that she didn’t favor me- she punished me when I deserved it, she grounded me when I needed to be reprimanded but she did it all WITH love and BECAUSE she loved me. A tap on my shoulders to encourage me, a warm hug to welcome me, a huge smile to brighten my days…

Her job was to educate me but she did  more than that: she believed in my ability to fly, she trained me in using my wings and she made me fly.  She doesn’t just teach you what you should do, her actions were more eloquent than ANY word she spoke.  She is an example of woman: strong, devout, courageous, respectable and respectful, humble, smart, loving – a hero and a human!  I wouldn’t be who I am today without her contribution and I am grateful for her.

In my heart and mind, Tribute is to pay homage to this stellar, unique, incredible, awesome and extraordinary woman: Janice Regis.

Semper Fidelis

One thought on “My Story with “Tribute” by Yanni: Homage to Janice ♥

  1. Acemerald says:

    Reblogged this on Log of a Lost Emerald and commented:

    One year ago, I paid tribute to one of the most wonderful women I have met and today, as she celebrates twenty years of success through sweat and tears, hard work and perseverance, I am reblogging that post. #janiceregis

Leave a Reply

